Alyssa Sheinmel

author

What Kind of Girl

The girls at North Bay Academy are taking sides. It all started when Mike Parker’s girlfriend showed up with a bruise on her face. Or, more specifically, when she walked into the principal’s office and said Mike hit her. But the students have questions. Why did she go to the principal and not the police? Why did she stay so long if he was hurting her? Obviously, if it’s true, Mike should be expelled. But is it true?

Some girls want to rally for his expulsion—and some want to rally around Mike. The only thing that the entire student body can agree on? Someone is lying. And the truth has to come out.

Girl In Pieces meets Moxie in this unflinching exploration of the many forms of abuse society inflicts upon women, and the strength it takes to rise above it all to claim your worth.

Praise for What Kind of Girl

Both timely and timeless, What Kind of Girl is a powerful exploration of abuse in its many forms, as well as the strength it takes to rise up and speak your truth. Alyssa Sheinmel has crafted a compelling, moving, and empowering story of hope and courage—one that will stay with you long after you’ve turned the last page.
—Amber Smith, New York Times bestselling author of The Way I Used to Be, The Last to Let Go, and Something Like Gravity

Important, raw, timely and ultimately hopeful, Sheinmel’s What Kind of Girl demands readers discuss the trauma of teen dating violence and how girls are so often taught—even expected—to internalize their victimization.
—Shannon M. Parker, author of The Girl Who Fell and The Rattled Bones

I immediately saw myself in this book, which so thoroughly explains the thought process when coming to terms with victimhood and survivorship. I felt understood—What Kind of Girl is my new best friend.
—Chessy Prout, author of I Have the Right To

Nuanced and compelling…A poignant, thought-provoking novel that will resonate deeply.
Kirkus Reviews

A rallying cry.
Booklist

A must-read for young adults… The entire time I read this novel my heart was pounding and I could not put it down. 5/5.
Affinity Magazine

Inspiring…What Kind of Girl bears testament to the resilience of teenagers’ spirits and the galvanizing power of friendship.
Foreword Reviews

Fans of Jennifer Mathieu’s Moxie and Kathleen Glasgow’s Girl in Pieces will enjoy this multiple points-of-view novel for the highly relevant subject matter, including domestic violence, self-harm, eating disorders, and mental illness. Recommended for purchase for its diverse characters and timely topics.
School Library Journal

This hard-hitting novel about social norms and mental health expresses the importance of honesty and self-advocacy.
Publishers Weekly

Ingenious…Sheinmel brilliantly dramatizes the pupils’ attempts to create a system of morality for themselves, rather than simply accepting the one handed down by authority.
Financial Times

This book is powerful and would definitely make a great addition to any high school library or classroom. It would also be perfect for high school counselors to use as a book study for both students and staff in support of social and emotional learning standards.
School Library Connection

International Editions

What Kind of Girl - UK cover by author Alyssa B. Sheinmel

Alyssa Sheinmel © 2020 Privacy Policy